The Country’s Biggest Fashion Legends Converge in this Runway Event

Fashion & Style

ABS-CBN Publishing’s fashion title, Metro honors the country’s fashion legends in the upcoming Metrowear Style Awards, paying tribute to top designers, muses, and photographers.

The runway event is set to welcome the new year in celebration of the publication’s 30th anniversary–an appreciation night for 30 amazing personalities who have not only collaborated with the magazine but have made significant contributions in their respective fields. 

Ten fashion designers, on the other hand, have had their own creative vision expressed in Metro covers or through the Metrowear fashion show. The list includes Metrowear Icons and this year’s awardees Auggie Cordero, Patty Ang, Mark Bumgarner, Lulu Tan Gan, Rajo Laurel, Michael Leyva, Randy Ortiz, Vania Romoff, Cary Santiago, and Joey Samson.

Ten photographers—Xander Angeles, Sara Black, Jun de Leon, Raymund Isaac, Mark Nicdao, Neal Oshima, BJ Pascual, Doc Marlon Pecjo, Ronnie Salvacion and Dookie Ducay—have created some of the magazine’s most celebrated images. With works ranging from art to editorial to commercial, they have produced stunning cover images for the magazine’s three-decade history.

Finally, ten muses—Angel Aquino, Iza Calzado, Kim Chiu, Anne Curtis, Heart Evangelista, Lucy Torres-Gomez, Kelsey Merritt, Tina Maristela-Ocampo, Bea Valdes, and Pia Wurtzbach—will once again take the spotlight and make their mark, not only gracing the magazine’s covers but have also made noteworthy contributions to the fashion industry whether as models, celebrity muses, designers, and global influencers.

Together, these 30 individuals will be honored during Metro’s big bash on Thursday (January 16) at The Fifth in Rockwell.

**Update: As of January 14, Metrowear Style Awards has been postponed in light of the recent Taal volcanic activity.